fireflies and cottonwood

our wedding blog

“Don’t call what you’re wearing an outfit” November 16, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — girldogtorch @ 10:32 pm
Tags: , ,

Despite what Jason Isbell sings, I have been most definitely putting together an outfit in my head for the wedding. I find it a bit odd to walk into the shoe department at Macy’s on 34th, which I did yesterday, and have very definite opinions to explain to the saleslady about what I want my shoes to look like. I am not used to having strong opinions about these things. Right now, I can pretty clearly visualize what I will be wearing when I am standing in the front of Emmanuel Episcopal Church on January 2, waiting for my love to come down the aisle to me.

My jacket: I have a charcoal grey tweed Crail jacket and three-button waistcoat on order from Thistle & Clover, the Scottish/Irish store on Main Street in Old St. Charles. They have ordered it from a supplier in Scotland, and hopefully it should arrive in the first week of December. Stephanie got a look at the version they had in the store, and I assume it will look pretty much like this (only in my size):

DSCN4775

My shoes: I wanted to buy shoes that looked nice, were appropriate to wear with a kilt, but which I might wear other times when I was dressing up, and not just with my kilt. After poking around online to see what I liked, I went twice down to DSW to see if they would have what I wanted, and ended up yesterday at Macy’s, settling eventually on this pair:

Bostonian Whateley

They feel pretty comfortable for dress shoes, and look good with the kilt stockings.

My belt & sporran: We haven’t chosen these, really, but from Stephanie’s scouting trip to Thistle & Clover, I saw a belt and sporran that I like. For the belt, I favor the one with the embossed thistle design:

DSCN4771

For the sporran, I didn’t want anything with fur on it, and I didn’t want anything with tassels that would clatter when I walked. This one, with a Celtic knot design looks good to me:

DSCN4777

My kilt: I have a kilt in the Dunbar tartan, custom-tailored, which I wore in Andrew’s wedding.

DunbarMod

Flashes and Socks: Finishing it all off, I have cream-colored woolen kilt hose, and the flashes I got when I originally got the kilt from my grandparents, way back in high school:

acrylichosetartflash

Tie & shirt: I’ll be wearing my green Burns tie, and I’ll get a new white shirt, but a regular buttoned one, I imagine, not one needing cuff links. We’ll see about that, though.

 

2 Responses to ““Don’t call what you’re wearing an outfit””

  1. Jan Says:

    It really doesn’t surprise me that you have definite ideas about what to wear. When you had something you felt strongly about even as a child you had definite ideas. If you were going to go outside and play with a certain theme in mind, you had specific ideas of what to wear. When you designed you own halloween costume you had specific ideas. I think your “get up, throw on some clothes, head out the door” normal daily attitude comes from me, but you do have style, don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. You just may not engage it on a daily basis.

  2. Andrew Says:

    I wonder what our cousin and sometime fashionista blogger L. would say.


Leave a Reply

