fireflies and cottonwood

our wedding blog

Things to Do in St. Louis: St. Louis Art Museum March 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — girldogtorch @ 1:38 pm
Tags: , ,

artmuseum2

 

Changing the date of our wedding, from July to January, changes a lot of things. Stephanie, of course, is far more competent to articulate the stylistic changes that will happen, now that we have a winter wedding. I think for me, it makes my twill Argyle jacket more of a winner, but that is about the extent of it. But then, if I am looking for what to recommend to the out of town visitors coming in for the wedding, the season makes a bigger difference. Ted Drewe’s is less of a destination in the bleak midwinter. Here’s a place that is dear to Stephanie and I, the St. Louis Art Museum.

 

SLAM was a place both Stephanie and I loved when we first met, and we went there together many times. Like many St. Louis museums, it is free for the permanent collection, and has a really nice and diverse collection. Both Stephanie and I really like the contemporary sculpture The Breaking of the Vessels,which is in one of the main atria, but my favorite piece was a Japanese screen in the Asian gallery, which I used to go an look at on evenings when I was stressed from work. It rotates in and out with other large Japanese works, and hasn’t been there the last few times I have gone, unfortunately.

 

One of the things about SLAM in the winter is that Art Hill, which rolls down from the museum to the pond with the fountain, is one of the popular sledding hills in the city. I haven’t been, but it was always one of those things I wish I had done in the city.

 

2 Responses to “Things to Do in St. Louis: St. Louis Art Museum”

  1. Amanda Says:

    One of the things I’m very jealous of St. Louis is the free museums and zoo. I wish that was the way all cities were. How great would it be to have that culture so accessible!

    I can attest to Ted Drewe’s in winter. I’m not a big fan of Ted Drewe’s. Having it for the first time in January might not have helped. I was surprised that the line seems just as long then than in the summer.

  2. Mary Beth Says:

    I was just in St. Louis this past week–only for two days, and with so many things to see and do, I did not have a chance to make it to SLAM. I did, however, and would strongly recommend to all, go to the Missouri Botanical Gardens, the Cathedral Basilica, the zoo, and City Museum. Yes, City Museum is $12 a head, but it is more than well worth it!


Leave a Reply

