fireflies and cottonwood

our wedding blog

More (bridesmaid) dresses! January 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — girldogtorch @ 8:56 pm
Tags: ,

I swear– the bridespeople can wear what they want, or what a quorum of them choose.

But I myself can’t stop looking at dress possibilities online.  I was reading an old (December) issue of O! Magazine today, and saw an ad for the American Living line at JC Penney’s.  I thought, “Oh, that would be a cute winter wedding bridesmaid dress.  Especially with the tartan…”

with-plaid

 

 

Or, a black dress with a little lace:

with-lace

 

 

I personally would want to wear this party dress with sequins–

with-sequins

…and maybe I could–rehearsal dinner?  Engagement party?

 

 

And, JC Penney’s even has a wedding department, with bridal gowns as well as “official” bridesmaids’ dresses.  I like this style:

bmaid-blue

 

 

And this one is very, very similar to one of the dresses we chose at David’s:

with-pin

 

The photos are small, so I’ll hyperlink like this: velvet and plaid dress here, dress with the lace bodice here, black with sequins here, short blue dress here, and dress with pin is here.

 

I find it really gratifying that all of the Penney’s dresses come in many sizes, and some are as inexpensive as $30.00.  I would never want anyone to not be able to afford to be part of our celebration, and I’ve heard of too many bridesmaids spending hundreds and hundreds of dollars on dress, shoes, make up and hair, parties, air fare, and gifts.  That’s too ridiculous, and burdensome, I think.  Strangely, I’ve never actually been a bridesmaid, but I don’t think I would be able to tell a good friend, “No, I can’t afford that,” to a party, a four-day at a hotel bachelorette party, or an expensive pair of shoes.

 

Leave a Reply

