fireflies and cottonwood

our wedding blog

Look familiar? October 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — girldogtorch @ 8:18 pm
Tags: ,

I’ve never thought much about Matt’s dishes, other than that they aren’t exactly my style (“my style” being, in this case, floral, colorful, heavily decorated.)  But he said he thought they were his parents’ dishes that they got for their wedding, and family dishes are my style.  So I did a little research…

Yes, this pattern: Village, by Pfaltzgraff.  Turns out, Pfaltzgraff started making it in the 1970s; Replacements.com says that it went out of production in 1976, but the Pfaltzgraff website carries tons of it, in every imaginable plate, serving piece, teapot, or snowglobe.  Yes, snowglobe.

I’ve always wanted to be able to say, “Oh these?  These have been in the family for years.”  So, it looks like we’ll be keeping Matt’s dishes.  It won’t match all of our Bodanna china (that we’ll register for), but I think it will look great with the brown pieces.

  

Ooooh: I can’t wait to do a brown and cream theme for Thanksgiving, or for an autumnal dinner party…  Yay, china patterns!

 

2 Responses to “Look familiar?”

  1. Maeve's mom Says:

    So many of my friends’ parents had those dishes when I was growing up. I think it’s wonderful that you’re keeping them. They are totally retro and cool. I have this awesome set of flatware (totally 70’s, flowers on the handle) that my mom got as a wedding present. We don’t use them everyday, but I love having them. Plus, now I know what to get you for Christmas, the snowglobe that matches the dishes. 🙂

  2. Jan Says:

    I think they came from Mother V. If they weren’t wedding they were birthday or Christmas just before or just after. She got them because I liked them and Rich’s girlfriend at the time worked at a department store where she could get a huge set at a price she could afford. I think we still have a bowl that we were using for a dog water bowl.

    I feel that way about some of my mother’s dishes. I would take a set even though I don’t need them, but to be able to say that these were in my family, well that is priceless. Does M have any of the poppy glass? The story behind that is even better. My Grandfather C gave it to my Grandmother on the day that my father was born, so we are talking 1924. It was a full 18 place setting set of dishes with all the accompanying pieces and they used it all the time. When I got it there were no dinner plates or water glasses and I have shared pieces with my siblings over the years. I think I still have enough of some things to share if I haven’t already. Ah, family heirlooms.


Leave a Reply

