fireflies and cottonwood

our wedding blog

The florist, the baker, and the maids’ dresses August 30, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — girldogtorch @ 9:05 pm

What an eventful day I had last Wednesday.

I hit it off with Jane Winter, at Wildflowers, in St. Louis’s historic Flower Row, immediately.  We chatted for more than two hours, about education, VTS, early educational reformers, founding new schools…and flowers, novels, ideas.  Sometimes, when I describe what I envision, I say (odd) things like, “I want it to be like I’m carrying an arm-load of flowers, fresh from the garden.  Like I’ve just come in from the garden, up the marble stairs into the library…”  Either people think it’s funny, but don’t get it, or they _really get it._  I felt immediately that Jane got it.

I said that I wanted the flowers to be old-fashioned, full, _splendid_.  No tightly-packed contemporary single-flower spheres for me.  I talked about Edith Wharton, and English gardens, and the difference between arrangements that are organic and a little “undone,” and ones that look manufactured.  She wrote down what I said, filling pages and nodding.  We looked through gorgeous picture books of arrangements–she pointed out what would be in season, what would be possible, what would suit me.  Wild tulips, yes.  Gerbera daisies, no.

 

I could have stayed, chatting and envisioning with her, but I had an appointment at Cravings, reportedly the most delicious cakes in St. Louis.  His cakes are famous for being completely eaten, with not a single slice left at the reception.  After a brief chat with the owner/creator/baker, he brought out two plates.  The first had slices of all of the cakes; the second had a generous scoop of each kind of filling, as well as the two icings he offers: vanilla and chocolate buttercream.

I’m not even a cake person, and these confections were _amazing_.  He only uses fresh fruit, and grinds his own almonds, and only fresh butter.  The strawberry filling, and the two icings, were like eating fresh ice cream.  There was none of the overly-sweetness of most frostings.  The cappuccino filling tasted rich, like a fine candy, but not fake, or artificial at all.  Next time we’re in town, Matt gets to go have a tasting–the baker offered to package everything up for him, but we didn’t think it would go through security. Again, we had a nice conversation about food and pastries, France, weddings, fresh ingredients, and guests.  It was another great conversation.

 

From the baker, I went up to the church to meet with my long-time priest. We had another wonderful conversation, and I got to describe how in love I am with Matt, and all of the Graceful things about our relationship.

 

And then, it was on to dinner with two of my bridesmaids and dear friends, and then to David’s Bridal, where another maid met us, and the dress trying-on began.  Oh, my friends looked beautiful!  It was so much fun, playing dress-up on such a grand scale.  Endless satin gowns!  Tuffets upon which to stand, and full-length mirrors.  Every imaginable color.  We had thought we would like knee-length dresses, but everyone liked the full-length gowns. I knew we wanted pinks, but didn’t know if we’d do pink and pink, or pink and grey…

They ended up falling in love with three different floor-length dresses, and we all agreed that “watermelon” and “rose petal” are the colors.  Next to an ivory gown, the two shades of pink warm up and look so romantic.  If they carry flowers, I think they will be in shades of white, ivory, and pinks.  (But I have other ideas about what they might carry, too…)

The models for David’s Bridal don’t do the dresses justice–they are ten times more beautiful in person.  The details are lovely, the colors are just right, and my girlfriends look so, so pretty.  But here are the links, so you have some idea…

http://www.davidsbridal.com/bridesmaids_detail.jsp?stid=1552&prodgroup=110&sid=19154

(This is one of the three dresses.  At the side, where it gathers, there is a fabulous, old-fashioned jewel.  This is Watermelon.)

http://www.davidsbridal.com/bridesmaids_bycolor_detail.jsp?stid=2334&sid=12417&cfid=49

(This is a second dress–the idea being that the women can choose which of the three they feel most beautiful in, in one of the two colors.  This is Rose Petal.)

 

http://www.davidsbridal.com/bridesmaids_detail.jsp?stid=3730&prodgroup=110&sid=24416

(This is the third dress in Watermelon.  On the bust, the fabric divides to reveal a pleat with hundreds of tiny beads–another really romantic detail that looks so pretty in person.)

 

We have one junior bridesmaid, and she could wear this dress in either Watermelon or Rose Petal.

http://www.davidsbridal.com/bridesmaids_bycolor_detail.jsp?stid=3739&sid=24493&cfid=6

 

More soon on what the bridespeople could carry, and photos of us trying on dresses…

 

2 Responses to “The florist, the baker, and the maids’ dresses”

  1. Janet Says:

    oooh! I just now looked at the gowns online. I can’t wait to see them in person. :o)

  2. girldogtorch Says:

    Oh! They are _so much prettier_ in person. The girls trying them on looked gorgeous–the colors are so old-fashioned and romantic, and everyone’s skin and body shape just looked so good! And the dresses have little touches, like vintage-y rhinestone pins, that are so amazing.


Leave a Reply

